Review: I tried period underwear from Snuggs and Modibodi

When it comes to making your period more sustainable, there are two main options: the menstrual cup and period underwear. Since the cup is not my cup of tea (*badum-tss*), I had been interested in trying period underwear for quite a while. After doing some research, I decided to go for the brands Snuggs and Modibodi, and got some period panties on sale. I have been using period underwear for over a year now, and in this post I will talk about both my experience with period underwear in general and the brands Snuggs and Modibodi in particular.

A pile of 5 folded black period panties, on a wooden shelf with plants surrounding them.

My experience using period underwear

Wearing period underwear definitely feels a little weird at first. Especially with a pair for low flow it feels just like wearing normal underwear, so you feel a little like you’re just free-bleeding. But personally, I was used to it within a few hours. And once you’re used to it, it makes periods so much more easy and hassle-free. No more changing pads or tampons multiple times a day, but it does feel just as secure and hygienic.

Period underwear is usually meant to be worn around 8 to 12 hours, although there are types that can be worn overnight. The absorption level of period underwear is usually expressed in the number of tampons or pads you’d otherwise use, or in the number of milliliters one pair of underwear can hold. Personally, I find that if I choose a high enough absorbency, I can easily wear them for 24 hours. However, it is important to note here that I have quite a low flow these days. When I still had a heavy flow, I probably would have to change them a bit more often on my heavier days.

When the time has come to change your pair of panties, you just rinse them in the sink with cold water until the water runs clear. Afterwards, wash them with your normal laundry. I do laundry once a week, so I usually just hang them to dry until then. Before I tried out period underwear, washing them was my biggest concern. I was afraid I’d find it too much of a hassle to wash them or that I couldn’t handle the idea of rinsing the blood out. But from the very beginning I found it really wasn’t that big of a deal! I find that rinsing your underwear once a day is so much less of a hassle than changing a pad or tampon multiple times a day.

Using period underwear has truly improved dealing with my period so much. On top of being more sustainable, it’s so much more comfortable and easy than it used to be. The only downside is the price. While long-term it is cheaper than buying pads and tampons, the price of one pair of period panties can be a bit high to pay upfront. Fortunately, many brands do occasional sales and many of them have deals where you get a discount if you buy more pieces. They also often work together with influencers who have discount codes. This way, it can be a little more affordable.

A photo taken from above of three pairs of black period panties from Snuggs laying on a wooden floor. A vase with pink tulips is standing in the upper left corner.

My experience with Snuggs

The first brand I ordered from, back in October 2022, was Snuggs. Snuggs is a Czech company that produces their products in Europe and uses more eco-friendly materials such as organic cotton, Tencel Lyocell, and recycled nylon. The gusset is PFAS-free, and is made from polyurethane laminate (a polyester blend) which is necessary for the absorbent layer. Their website also states that they provide safe and fair working conditions throughout their entire supply chain, but unfortunately they haven’t been rated by websites like Good on You yet – so we only have their own words to go off here.

At this point in time I own 3 pairs of period panties from Snuggs: the Classic in organic cotton with medium absorption, and two Classics in lyocell with heavy absorption. I like all of them, but the organic cotton one is a bit lower waisted than the lyocell ones, so I prefer those two. All pairs of panties truly just feel like wearing normal underwear, because the gusset is so thin – while still feeling really absorbent and protective.

When I first bought from them, they didn’t have that many styles and colors yet – but at this point in time they have quite some different styles and colors and their collection is still expanding. Their size range goes up to a 4XL, but I have to say I find they fit quite small. I personally need a size XL, when I am usually around a European size 40 in pants.

If you plan on ordering from Snuggs, I have a refer a friend link that gives you 30% off on your first order. This is not sponsored in any way, shape or form, it’s just a link that everyone gets when they order.

A photo taken from above of two pairs of black period panties from Modibodi laying on a wooden floor. A vase with pink tulips is standing in the upper left corner

My experience with Modibodi

I own two pairs of period panties from Modibodi: their Vegan Full Brief for heavy-overnight flow, and their Classic Boyleg for light-moderate flow. Modibodi is an Australian company that also focuses on sustainable and ethical production, and they have worked together with several charities. They score a “good” on Good on You, and they offer a lot more information about their practices on their website, such as an impact report. Many of their styles are made from more eco-friendly materials such as organic cotton or bamboo viscose, and their gussets are also PFAS-free and made out of polyester with a merino wool top layer – although they also have a vegan range without wool.

Although I personally bought two black pieces, they have lots of fun colors, designs and plenty of styles available. But what I love the most about Modibodi is that they are also super inclusive. Most pieces are shown on several different models who all wear different sizes. They also are quite gender-inclusive and they use disabled models – they even have an adaptive range! (Although it only contains two products right now, and even only one on the EU website). Their size range goes up to 6XL, and they fit slightly more true to size. I’m inbetween an L and an XL here, and although I ordered an XL twice they clearly are a bit bigger than the Snuggs pieces.

However, I’m a little bit less content about the pieces I bought from them than the ones from Snuggs. Don’t get me wrong, I still love them. But especially the Full Brief style for heavy-overnight flow feels quite heavy – it doesn’t feel as much like wearing normal underwear and can become a little bit sweaty at night. Of course, any style that’s made for super heavy flow is going to have a thicker gusset. But when I bought the pair for light-moderate flow, I also found it to be a bit heavier than the Snuggs ones. Despite the gusset being thicker, it also feels a little less absorbent. That being said: they’re still a lot better than pads, and the Full Brief heavy-overnight style does work really well for overnight protection.

Conclusion

I’m incredibly happy I tried out period underwear, and I will never go back. Like I said before, my periods feel so much more comfortable, easy and hassle-free. Both Modibodi and Snuggs are great brands that I would both purchase from again. Modibodi has so many inclusive and fun styles that I believe anyone can find a pair there that fits them. Snuggs is great when you’re located in Europe and are looking for more of a basic style.


Leave a comment